JAPANESE SURRENDER ON THE HYMAN (DD732)

SIGNING THE SURRENDER PAPERS ON THE USS HYMAN (DD732)

Kusaie Island Liberation – USS HYMAN (DD732)

Between the signing of the capitulation documents on board USS Missouri BB 63, 2 Sept 1945 and the end of the year, Japanese garrisons on the Asiatic mainland and on bypassed islands scattered throughout the western Pacific surrendered. One such remote Pacific garrison was at Kusaie Island, Caroline Islands. USS Hyman DD 732 and USS Soley DD 707, as part of Task Unit 96.15.1, a Military Government Unit, sortied for Kusaie Island.

On 8 September, Lt. Gen. Harada of the Imperial Japanese Army signed the surrender documents aboard USS Hyman, officially turning over his garrison of some 4,000 troops to Commodore Ben Wyatt, USN. Later that day Commodore Wyatt departed Kusaie on board USS Hyman leaving Soley there to enforce the surrender terms. Soley remained at Kusaie as station ship until mid-October

SURRENDER PARTY IN THE BOAT

JAPANESE SURRENDER PARTY COMING ABOARD THE HYMAN

Kusaie Island Liberation – USS HYMAN (DD732)  (NOTE:  The smaller photos at the bottom of the page could not be enlarged without distorting the photo.  Sorry about that.  Junior)

SURRENDER PARTY ON THE HYMAN
THE SURRENDER PARTY ON THE HYMAN

THE SURRENDER PARTY ON THE HYMAN

 

About JUNIOR

I am a 77 year old retired Northrop-Grumman Corp. Facilities Engineer. I worked at Northrop's Pico Rivera and Palmdale facilities for a total of 13 years, and retired 1n 1995. I have been married to my high school sweetheart for over 54 fantastic years, and we have 3 excellent children (all boys) 7 wonderful grandchildren, and 1 great grandchild. My hobbies are playing the piano (actually, more like learning HOW to play the piano) and restoring a 1937 Plymouth, although sadly, I have made very little progress on it in recent years. I drove road race go-karts until the age of 71. I never grew up, I just got old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to JAPANESE SURRENDER ON THE HYMAN (DD732)

  1. TJ says:

    My 19th birthday was 09/11/1945. I was aboard the Hyman from 06/45 to 08/46′ I reported aboard the Hyman and pre/commissioning crew at MOB Norfolk after one year aboard the Champlin DD 601. Entered the navy when 15 posing as an older brother. I later served in the U S Army from 01/47 to 02/50. Long, long ago. Would love to visit with old navy shipmates and army buddies but I guess they are now on that great shnp in the sky. Managed to make over 1500 skydives ending when I was 83 years old.

    • JUNIOR says:

      Congratulations Tom. !500 skydives untill you were 83? I thought I was doing well racing road race go karts until I was 71 years old. Skydives are too scary for me. Regarding visiting with old Navy shipmates, you would be surprised at how many of your old Navy shipmates have not yet joined the crew on that “great ship in the sky.” If any of you WWII guys are reading this, send Tom an email, and tell him how you’re doing. Keep up the good fight, and maintain that “can-do”attitude. Junior

  2. Alan Fuller, Santa Ana, California says:

    My name is Alan fuller, a son of eugene(gene) fuller. I believe my father was communications officer on the hyman at that time.. Any chance you remember him?

    • JUNIOR says:

      Hi Alan,
      Sorry to say I don’t remember your father, although I probably saw him on the ship many times. I worked in the engine room, and did’t get to see the light of day very often, except for chow. Also, enlisted guys don’t “hang” with officers. The only officers I knew were the Captain (Briggs) the XO,and the engineering officer. Cheers. Junior

      • Alan Fuller says:

        Hi, thanks for letting me know you got my email. My father passed away 7 years ago. Every so often he would talk about his experiences in the navy, generally very fondly, like it was a good time for him. He really liked Captain James Foley, he almost signed up for additional years. He was on the Hyman after the war was over, but went to islands when Japan was surrendering and did go to Tokyo for some time. There is an interesting interview by John W Jones, JR recorded by CCSU. He was on the ship as an electrician and was on the ship when it was hit by a kamakazi near okinawa.

Leave a Reply

