HYMAN IN DRYDOCK

LEFT: THE USS HYMAN (DD732) IN DRYDOCK.  RIGHT:  PROP AND MAIN SHAFT.

I spent Xmas Eve 1956 in the Boston Navy Yard.  I was the only snipe on board that wasn’t on duty, so some of the guys asked if I would meet one of their friends off the base that had a bottle of Jack Daniels for them, and sneak it on board.  Being the young, dumb ass that I was, I agreed, not thinking that the Marines at the gate would be checking everyone for booze on Xmas Eve.  I picked up the booze, and when I came back through the gate, I was “frisked” and the bottle was discovered.  They Jarheads took the bottle, my name, rank and serial number, and I knew I would be “busted” for trying to bring a bottle of booze onto the ship.  (At that time I was either a MM2 or MM3.)  Either the Jarheads were “being nice” on Xmas Eve, or they wanted the bottle for themselves, because my indiscretion was never reported.

About JUNIOR

I am a 77 year old retired Northrop-Grumman Corp. Facilities Engineer. I worked at Northrop's Pico Rivera and Palmdale facilities for a total of 13 years, and retired 1n 1995. I have been married to my high school sweetheart for over 54 fantastic years, and we have 3 excellent children (all boys) 7 wonderful grandchildren, and 1 great grandchild. My hobbies are playing the piano (actually, more like learning HOW to play the piano) and restoring a 1937 Plymouth, although sadly, I have made very little progress on it in recent years. I drove road race go-karts until the age of 71. I never grew up, I just got old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HYMAN IN DRYDOCK

  1. Pingback: BOB ECKERT HAS PASSED AWAY | USS HYMAN (DD732) SNIPES

  2. Pingback: THE USS HYMAN IN DRYDOCK | USS HYMAN (DD732) SNIPES

  3. Tom Maine says:

    I was on board from 67-68. Was MM2. We were in drydock and had to have the hull replaced from the engine rooms back in places due to severe deterioration of the hull. MM3 BJ Johnson dropped a sounding rod down one of the void spaces and it went thru the hull and kept going. Funny as hell.

    • JUNIOR says:

      Hi Tom,
      INTERESTING!!! I hadn’t heard that before, and I’m sure that most of the guys that left the ship before 1967 didn’t know about it either. They will now. If you have any photos from your Hyman days, send them and I’ll put them on the site. Junior

Leave a Reply

