BOB ECKERT MM1, HAS PASSED AWAY

Bob Eckert, my best friend in the Navy, passed away on Monday, March 28th, 2011.  He was stationed on the USS Hyman (DD732) from 1953 to 1957, and was assigned to the Forward Engine Room.  Bob passed his test for promotion to MMI right before his honorable discharge, and was promoted one month after his discharge.  He married the love of his life, Jo, in 1960, and they celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary together last August.  (2010)  My wife Shirley and I attended the happy celebration in Hinckley, Ohio where we met Bob and Jo’s two great children, Steve and Linda.  Bob had many good friends on the Hyman, and he will be dearly missed.    
 
Bob’s Memorial Service will be held on April 6th at the Busch Funeral Home in Parma, Ohio, and visiting hours will be from 4:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M, with the service at 5:00P.M.  Directions to the home are avaialble at www.buschfuneral.com/parma.cfm.  

Photos below: Left, Bob leaning against the guard rail with one of the Hyman’s sister ships in the background.  Right, Bob seems to be enjoying the “Gitmo” shake-down cruise.  (Circa: 1956)

 

 

Photos below: Left, Bob and I toasting New Years Eve, 1957.  Right, Bob “catching some rays” on the fantail 

 

 

 

 

 

 Below:  Bob and I on a party boat on Hinckley Lake near Hinckley Ohio in August, 2010.  (Bob and Jo’s 50th wedding anniversary.)  Note my USS Hyman (DD732) ball cap that Bob gave me.   (Junior)

About JUNIOR

I am a 77 year old retired Northrop-Grumman Corp. Facilities Engineer. I worked at Northrop's Pico Rivera and Palmdale facilities for a total of 13 years, and retired 1n 1995. I have been married to my high school sweetheart for over 54 fantastic years, and we have 3 excellent children (all boys) 7 wonderful grandchildren, and 1 great grandchild. My hobbies are playing the piano (actually, more like learning HOW to play the piano) and restoring a 1937 Plymouth, although sadly, I have made very little progress on it in recent years. I drove road race go-karts until the age of 71. I never grew up, I just got old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BOB ECKERT MM1, HAS PASSED AWAY

  1. Ralph Beck says:

    Junior,
    We would like to see you and Shirley at the USS Hyman Branson Reunion, September 2012. Look forward to meeting you…………Ralph

    • JUNIOR says:

      Hi Ralph,
      Thank you for the invitation. We are planning on going to both Branson and Newcastle, Indiana next September. See you in Branson. Junior

  2. Pingback: BOB ECKERT HAS PASSED AWAY | USS HYMAN (DD732) SNIPES

  3. Pingback: JOIN THE USS HYMAN DD-732 ASSOCIATION | USS HYMAN (DD732) SNIPES

Leave a Reply

